GoPro Hero 11 Black Review

GoPro HERO 11 Black Review – Caters to all types of audiences

Announced to the world in September 2022, following the tradition of launching the action camera company, the GoPro HERO11 Black is the type of product that definitely has many uses due to the super technologies involved.

Regarding the HERO 10 Black, the company has put a new sensor that captures up to 1 billion colors and continues to record videos in 5.3K quality, but now captures photos at up to 27 MP. Check out what we found right now.

GoPro Hero 11 Black – Design and Construction

What caught my attention most in terms of design were the rubberized edges that provide support in possible accidents or impacts that can definitively compromise an action camera. Compared to the 2021 model, we had no external changes: the GoPro HERO 11 Black hits the market only in black and with two buttons.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Design

There is a seal that prevents wood residues and water from damaging the components and leaves the “footprint” pleasant. It’s important to remember that, of course, you’ll get better use if you put on an accessory that makes it easier to transport, but when I visited two days of the Tech Show and walked with the Go Pro, I didn’t have any problems.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Design1

The action camera hits the market with a weight of 153 grams, the same as its predecessor. The heaviest weight is due to the battery, which in one way or another, is the heaviest component of the photo and video capture device.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Design2

The manufacturer sends a small carrying bag with dividers that fit perfectly and everything can be closed with a zipper. It is possible to see here that more than delivering a quality device, GoPro was also focused on facilitating transport. Even because, let’s agree that a suitcase just to carry the camera is better than using any bag that leaves it “loose”.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Design3

I didn’t have any negative points regarding the design and construction and even though I’m the type of user who isn’t used to using an action camera, the start-up was pretty smooth. The operating system and button press are also quite dynamic.

Camera – GoPro Hero 11 Black

There’s no denying that the lens is one of the great highs of the GoPro HERO 11 lineup. The traditional model arrives on the global market with a sensor that was not present in any other action camera, but regarding the processor, we have not had any changes. With technology to capture 1 billion colors, check out the advances of the 2022 release over the 2021 model:

GoPro HERO10 Black

GoPro HERO11 Black

Processor

GP2

GP2

photo resolution

23 MP

27 MP

video resolutions

5.3K60, 4K120 e 2.7K240

5.3K: 25/30/50/60 FPS

4K: 24/25/30/60/100/120 FPS

2.7K: 24/25/30/48/50/60/100/120/200/240 FPS

1080p: 24/25/30/48/50/60/80/90/120/200/240 FPS

video stabilization

HyperSmooth 4.0

HyperSmooth 5.0

Another gain is the 8:9 aspect ratio, which allows for better content creation in a vertical format. After uploading everything to the Quik app, GoPro points out that it’s easier to edit content for TikTok and Instagram within the 9:16 aspect ratio.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera

But cinematic formats in the 16:9 aspect ratio for YouTube will also be easily created and the company reminds us that the loss of quality will not happen, regardless of the aspect ratio that the content has.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera1

Photo and video modes

When I mentioned in the title of this review that the GoPro HERO 11 Black is a model for all types of audiences, I came to this conclusion precisely because of the video modes. Easy, as the name suggests, is suitable for those who do not understand much about photography, but would still like to record good photos and videos. Just make a swap with the drag of virtual buttons and that’s it, everything will be captured. I had good results on darker days, where, on a day-to-day basis, everything seemed “too dark”.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera2

Do you understand more about photography and video? PRO mode can only be activated through the Quik App, where you can also control the ISO, lens aperture, and other details. I felt a certain dependence on it, but considering that the setup can only be done while the recording or photo has not started yet, let’s “let it go”. This photo was taken in wide mode :

As the GP2 processor is available on the 2022 model, LTM (Local Tone Mapping) mode is also around. The novelty is on account of three new time-lapse patterns for capturing content at night, ideal for those who want to take photos and videos capturing starry skies and other elements.

Photos

Starting with capturing static content, we’ve had minor changes to photo modes. If before it was possible to take pictures in four modes, now it is possible to use two of them:

  • Wide: from 16 to 34 mm with the wide fisheye field of view;
  • Linear: from 19 to 39 mm, which captures photos in “normal” mode without the fisheye effect.

These were the results in Wide and Linear modes, respectively:

It is possible to take photos with up to 27 MP, a gain of 7 MP over the previous generation. There is an improvement in the algorithm according to the manufacturer, which delivers better night photos and this was the result of a sky night near my home:

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera3

Anyway, it’s important to say that this is not a camera designed for those who just want to take good pictures at night. The GoPro is best known in the market for delivering photos captured during the day and for its great stabilization. That said, this result with the shutter open for 30 seconds was satisfactory, check it out:

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera4

As much as there is improved technology focused on this, you will still be able to see noise in the photo that you don’t see in professional photo results. Therefore, it is important to understand the GoPro target market with all its action cameras. See this photo indoors, for example:

GoPro Hero 11 Black Camera5

Video

We’ve reached the high point: with the Hypersmooth technology updated for 2022, the content capture impressed me… a lot. I say this not only for the high quality of what was recorded but also for the stability. These are the resolutions and frame rates per second:

Resolution

frames  per second

1080P (Full HD)

24/25/30/48/50/60/80/90/120/200/240 FPS

2.7K

24/25/30/48/50/60/100/120/200/240 FPS

4K

24/25/30/60/100/120 FPS

5.3K

25/30/50/60 FPS

The point I would like to comment on most about the videos is the good color management performed in real-time, which allows the work to be seen immediately and without the need to wait for post-processing which can take just a few seconds.

For those who are in the habit of only using their smartphone to record videos for the most diverse features, having a camera that can be used just for that is a huge upgrade that should be taken into account. These are the video modes:

  • HyperView : 12 mm;
  • SuperView: 16 mm;
  • Wide: from 16 to 34 mm with the wide fisheye field of view;
  • Linear: from 19 to 39 mm, which captures photos in “normal” mode without fish-eye effect;
  • Linear + Horizon Lock (full 360º rotation).

HyperSmooth

HyperSmooth technology is a feature that allows videos to have better stabilization, regardless of the movement made by users. When it launched with the HERO 3 cameras, the company recalled in an interview that action cameras were used more as backups than main filming devices.

Updated to 2022 in Gen 5.0, HyperSmooth is a feature that I would really define as surreal (in a good way). I did walk tests with my dog, who is always in the habit of running, and if I say I made mistakes, he would be lying.

The feature can be used in live streams and also in 5.3K resolution, but at maximum resolution, there are still battery problems: the model could not stay activated with electronic stabilization mode for no more than 2 hours straight. This is because there are many tasks happening at the same time: there is work of the algorithm analyzing frame by frame so that the best result is delivered at the time the video recording is stabilized.

HyperSmooth is by far one of the best technologies for anyone who needs to record sports or situations with poor stability, but there is another “problem” when using this feature. The model heats up a lot and it is worth using this activated when having an accessory. Carrying the camera with just your hands is not impossible, but the hassle will be less with a handrest.

Performance and screen

With the GP2 processor, I didn’t have any operating system problems and one feature that I really liked was the update made by the Quik App, which can also be used to edit videos for free.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Performance

This is required before first use and any new OS version can be downloaded by smartphone and sent to the camera, all without wires or paperwork. But, at times, I had trouble making this connection and it was necessary to try more than once for the pairing to be performed.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Performance1

My biggest complaint is still the heat dissipation. After continuous use for an hour, I clearly noticed that the camera was starting to heat up more than acceptable for devices that have a battery. Hot days in my city were the most difficult, even more considering that the environment itself was hot. Having to wear the GoPro HERO 11 Black and seeing it heat up after about 30 minutes was a bit of a letdown.

In addition to the 2.27 -inch touchscreen for activating and switching functions, there’s a 1.4-inch video stabilization-oriented viewfinder that helps with framing. There’s nothing negative to say about it, although I’ve been wanting to activate PRO mode without the need for the Quik App. In fact, she keeps her promise.

Drums

We got to the problem. If already in our review of the GoPro HERO 10 we had already commented that the battery was the weak point of the action camera, and this still persists in the 2022 generation. My biggest comment about this is that, even with all the marketing involved in the inclusion of the Enduro battery, there is still a lot to improve.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Drum

In 5K quality video recordings, I managed to use it for no more than 2 hours, and again, I need to talk about the high battery heating when the model was put on high power. That said, the photo capture is somewhat better: I was able to use it straight through for 3 hours before the battery died. An interesting fact is that the camera turns itself off when the battery is at 10% in video mode, but it still manages to work up to 5% for taking pictures.

A problem we had in the HERO10 tests has been resolved: if the battery percentage changed when switching modes, this is no longer present in the GoPro HERO 11 Black that I tested. My biggest complaint is the battery life itself: if you need a camera that works for more than 4 hours, you may need to buy an external battery (or maybe two, depending on what you’re doing).

GoPro Hero 11 Black Drum1

On the official GoPro website, an additional battery can be purchased for R$299.00. You can also opt for a kit that brings the external charger with two additional batteries for R$ 679.00. Traditional charging is done via a USB-C input, which can also be used to transfer captured content.

There is no power supply shipped in the box, but you can make use of the accessory from other devices. When charging the camera with a 60W charger, the process was completed after two hours and a beep sounded.

Conclusion

The GoPro HERO 11 line won three models: Mini, Black, and Creator Edition. My day-to-day use of the GoPro HERO 11 Black was great and, for a person who records all the good times with just their smartphone, the user experience was interesting and the results were great overall. That said, I was really hoping the battery would last a little longer and the action camera wouldn’t get so hot in everyday life.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Conclusion

GoPro HERO 11 Black is a great product and there is no denying that the results are amazing, but there are still points that need to be improved for it to be a perfect product. What I liked the most is that it was quite simple to use: with the press of a few buttons, it was possible to take great photos and videos.

The model sent to us is being sold on the official website of its manufacturer for US$ 499.99 (R$ 2,648.10 in direct conversion), which is lower than the average price of the GoPro HERO10 in the general market. You might want to upgrade if you have the HERO 9, as there’s been a nice update to video stabilization, as well as a (slightly) better battery.

GoPro Hero 11 Black Conclusion1

It is an interesting product to keep an eye on during times of great promotions such as Black Friday or the end of the year, but the current price in relation to the delivery of benefits is not bad either.

Technical Specifications – GoPro HERO 11 Black

GoPro Hero 11 Black

Model

GoPro HERO 11 Black

WiFi

Yes, 5Ghz

Bluetooth

Yes

GPS

Yes

Altimeter and Accelerometer

Yes

water resistance

Yes, 10 meters

voice control

No

removable battery

Yes, from 2,700 mAh

Storage

Micro SD up to 512GB

5K video recording

25/30/50/60 FPS (5.3K)

4K video recording

24/25/30/60/100/120 FPS

2.7K video recording

24/25/30/48/50/60/100/120/200/240 FPS

1080P video recording

24/25/30/48/50/60/80/90/120/200/240 FPS

360º videos

No

automatic image rotation

Yes

image stabilization

Yes, up to 5K60FPS

Timelapse Mode, Hyperlapse

Yes

Internal Microphone

Yes

bluetooth microphone support

No

camera resolution

27 MP

Continuous shooting mode

Yes

RAW format support

Yes, with HDR mode support

Application

Yes, for Android and iOS

Live broadcast

Facebook/YouTube/GoPro Cloud

Remote Control

Yes

diving case

Yes

connections

USB-C, Micro-HDMI, Audio 3.5mm

Price

From US$399 ( INR 32,999 appx. in direct conversion)

Colors

black

Launch

September 14, 2022

GoPro Hero 11 Black Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Easy use
  • great lens
  • good stabilization
  • glossy screen

Cons

  • The battery could last longer
  • The model starts to heat up after 30 minutes

Verdict: GoPro HERO 11 Black

  • Camera
  • Design
  • Photo and video modes
  • HyperSmooth
  • Performance and screen
  • Drums

Overall Rating

The camera manages to deliver great results regardless of user knowledge, but it still disappoints in battery life and heat management.
4.6/5

Do you have any questions about using HERO11 Black in practice? Tell us in the comments!

See too

Be sure to check out our review of the GoPro HERO10, released in 2021

Scroll to Top